J. Reuben Clark Law Society
Editing Content
Revert to History:

Clark Society Advisors



Chair:
Randall D. Guynn
Davis Polk & Wardwell
450 Lexington Avenue
New York, NY 10017
Phone: (212)450-4239
Fax: (212)450-3239
randall.guynn@dpw.com

Past Chair:
Gary S. Anderson
3396 North Cottonwood Lane,
Provo, UT 84604
Phone: (510)847-6928
Fax:
lynn.anderson5@yahoo.com

Past Chair:
William F. Atkin
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Office of General Counsel
50 East North Temple
2nd Floor, West Wing
Salt Lake City, UT 84150-5100
Phone: (801)240-6234
Fax: (801)240-1109
atkinwf@ldschurch.org

Past Chair:
Brent J. Belnap
Pokrovsky Hills
Beregovaya ulitsa 3, PB-27
Moscow, Russia 125367
Phone: (212)289-2289
Fax:
brentjbelnap@ldschurch.org

Past Chair:
Joseph Ivins Bentley
Latham & Watkins
61 Montecito Drive
Corona Del Mar, CA 92625-1018
Phone: (949)720-9777
Fax:
joseph.bentley@cox.net

Past Chair:
Douglas R. Bush
Arent Fox LLP
1050 Connecticut Avenue N.W.
Washington, DC 20036
Phone: 202-857-8977
Fax: (202)857-6395
bush.doug@arentfox.com

Past Chair:
Lew W. Cramer
171 East 3rd Avenue, #513
Salt Lake City, UT 84103
Phone: (801)355-1856
Fax:
lew.cramer@cbcadvisors.com

Past Chair:
Ralph W. Hardy
11400 Skipwith Lane
Potomac, MD 20854
Phone: (301)983-0210
Fax:
rhardy@venable.com

Past Chair:
Charles E. Jones
5022 East Calle del Norte
Phoenix, AZ 85018
Phone: (602)952-0993
Fax:
cjoneslaw@cox.net

Past Chair:
Ralph R. Mabey
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
50 East South Temple
Suite 400
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Phone: (801)239-3145
Fax: (801)212-2194
rmabey@kmclaw.com

Past Chair:
Jeremiah J. Morgan
9115 North Stark Court
Kansas City, MO 64157
Phone: (816)781-1775
Fax:
jeremiah.morgan1@gmail.com

Past Chair:
Nancy Stevenson Van Slooten
Not Available
Phone: (801)571-1535
Fax:
nancyvanslooten@gmail.com

Operations Committee Liaison:
Virginia Tate Isaacson
850 Lindy Lane
Huntingtown, MD 20639
Phone: (410)414-7457
Fax:
tmisaacson@aol.com

Member:
Sterling A. Brennan
Maschoff Brennan
20 Pacifica Ste 1130
Irvine, CA 92618
Phone: 949-202-1900
Fax:
sbrennan@mabr.com

Member:
Berne Steven Broadbent
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
50 East North Temple Street
Room FL13
Salt Lake City, UT 84150
Phone: (801)240-8099
Fax: (801)240-1187
berne.broadbent@gmail.com

Member:
Robert S. Clark
Parr Brown Gee & Loveless
101 S 200 E
Suite 700
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Phone: (801)532-7840
Fax: (801)532-7750
rclark@parrbrown.com

Member:
S. David Colton
Full Time Mission
60 West 66th Street Apt 10D
New York, NY 10023
Phone: (602 821-5213
Fax:
sdcolton@gmail.com

Member:
John L. Douglas
Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP
901 15th Street NW
Suite 1200
Washington, DC 20005
Phone: 202 962-7126
Fax: (202)962-7100
john.douglas@davispolk.com

Member:
Stephen Condie Earl
Earl Curley & Lagarde, PC
3101 North Central Avenue, Suite 1000
Phoenix, AZ 85012-2641
Phone: (602)265-0094
Fax: (602)265-2195
searl@ecllaw.com

Member:
Mary H. Hoagland
BYU Law School
338 JRCB
BYU Law School
Provo, UT 84602
Phone: (801)422-7831
Fax: (801)422-0389
hoaglandm@law.byu.edu

Member:
Douglas M. Monson
Ray Quinney & Nebeker
P.O. Box 45385
Salt Lake City, UT 84145
Phone: 801-532-1500
Fax: 801-532-7543
dmonson@rqn.com

Member:
John A. Taylor
Horvitz & Levy LLP
15760 Ventura Boulevard, Suite 1800
Encino, CA 91436-3002
Phone: (818)995-0800
Fax: (818)995-3157
jtaylor@horvitzlevy.com

Reserve Status:
R. Bruce Duffield
Bryan Cave LLP
161 North Clark Street, Suite 4300
Chicago, IL 60601-3315
Phone: (312)602-5087
Fax: (312)698-7487
bruce.duffield@bryancave.com

Reserve Status:
Annette Wanlass Jarvis
Dorsey & Whitney LLP
136 S Main St.
Suite 1000
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone: (801)933-8933
Fax: (801)933-7373
jarvis.annette@dorsey.com

Reserve Status:
Robert Wayne Mendenhall
Richardson GMP Limited
3360 Manulife Place
10180 - 101 Street
Edmonton, AB Canada
Phone: (780)409-7720
Fax: (780)409-7777
robert.mendenhall@richardsongmp.com

Reserve Status:
Rulon D. Munns
Bogin Munns & Munns
P.O. Box 2807
Orlando, FL 32802
Phone: 407-425-1814
Fax: (407)578-2181
rulon@boginmunns.com

:
Christian A. Johnson
United States Patent & Trademark Office
teleworker in Olympia
Phone:
Fax:
cjesqip@gmail.com

Purpose

The members of the Clark Society Advisors are former leaders of the Law Society, including many of the former international chairpersons and others who have rendered distinguished leadership and other service over many years to the Law Society. The purpose of the Clark Society Advisors is to advise and support the Operating Committee of the J. Reuben Clark Society, as requested, in policy and fiscal matters. It also serves as an institutional memory for the Law Society, acts as a sounding board for chapter leaders, and as a resource to local chapters. CSA members are frequently called upon to speak at local chapter events and to assist them in chapter projects.

Principles

Experience and wisdom from prior leaders help provide continuity and maintain purposeful vision. Counsel of experienced leaders will enable current leaders to understand decisions made in the past and to gain perspective from prior experience, as they chart a course for the future.

History and Functions

The J. Reuben Clark Law Society was founded by leaders of vision and influence. Over the history of the Law Society there have been a number of exemplary leaders. In order to preserve the expertise, wisdom, and advice of these leaders, the Clark Society Advisors (CSA) was formed several years ago by what was then the Law Society’s Executive Committee. The CSA is made up of all former international chairs of the Law Society and a number of former international board members and others who have made significant contributions as leaders of the Law Society. This group serves for three years with the option to renew membership in the group.

The CSA advises the Operating Committee on proposed new initiatives and plans being considered by the Operating Committee. The advisors may also be called upon to address or advise Chapters or committees of the Law Society, in addition to the Operating Committee, on fiscal and policy matters.

In addition to occasional meetings by telephone conference, the CSA meet at the Law Society’s Leadership Conference in October and during the Annual Conference of the Law Society in February. They are consulted individually and as a group by the Operating Committee on a periodic basis.


CONNECT