J. Reuben Clark Law Society
Editing Content
Revert to History:

Religious Freedom Committee



As members of the J. Reuben Clark Law Society, we affirm the strength brought to the law by a lawyer's personal, religious conviction. In doing so, we implicitly affirm the great importance of religious liberty to the rule of law. Without religious liberty, religious conviction is relegated to the shadows. We therefore appreciate efforts to strengthen religious freedoms for all faiths. Members of the Law Society are encouraged to serve in the communities in which they live and to join forces with other like-minded individuals and groups to educate, inform and remind lawyers, decision makers and others of the critical importance of religious liberty to the existence of all free societies.

Mission Statement

At the 2013 J. Reuben Clark Law Society Annual Conference, Elder Jeffrey R. Holland challenged members of the Society "to defend, to advocate, to plead, and to appeal for…great faith…strong families…and religious freedom."  The purpose of the Religious Freedom Committee is to help members of the Society fulfill this challenge by leading, educating, empowering, organizing and inspiring members of the Society to promote religious freedom in their respective communities.  We invite members of the Society to be anxiously engaged in this good cause and to work in harmony with other like-minded individuals and organizations towards promoting religious freedom. 

Religious Freedom Committee Members




Matthew Richards, Chair
mrichards@kmclaw.com

Steven Collis, Vice Chair and Chair Elect
stcollis@hollandhart.com

Scott Brown, Secretary
sbrown@lrlaw.com

Dean Gayla Soreson, Operations Committee Contract

Content

Steven Collis, Chair
stcollis@hollandhart.com

John A. Taylor, Member
jtaylor@horvitzlevy.com

Stephen Davis, Member
stephen.davis@arentfox.com

Eric Johnson, Member
eric@bcjlaw.net


North America Outreach & Events

Stephanie Barclay, Chair
barclays@law.byu.edu 

Casey Hurley, Member
hurleyc@byui.edu

John Taylor, Member
jtaylor@horvitzlevy.com

Josh Figueira, Member
joshua_figueira@byu.edu

Ron Ahrens, Member
ron@ahrensmail.com

John Phillips, Member
jrphillips2@gmail.com

Jeff Shields, Member
jeff@shieldslawoffices.com

Rana Lehr-Lehnardt, Member
ranall@gmail.com

Nancy Van Slooten, Member
nvanslooten@yahoo.com

International Outreach & Events

John Zackrison, Chair
zackrisonja@ldschurch.org 

Brent Belnap, Member
brentjbelnap@ldschurch.org

Joseph Brubaker, Member
jbrubaker@kmclaw.com

Kevin Kimball, Member
kkimball@kmclaw.com

Emron Pratt, Member
emronpratt@gmail.com

Mauricio Torres, Member
mtorres@kmclaw.com

Morris Linton, Member
morrisdlinton@gmail.com

Church Liason

Robert Snyder, Chair
snyderre@ldschurch.org

Website and Social Media

Joe Brubaker, Chair
jbrubaker@kmclaw.com


 

How can you help on the Internet?

The Religious Freedom Committeee is looking for volunteers to help draft religious freedom content for the JRCLS website.  To assist, please contact Michael Fielding at 816-983-8353 or michael.d.fielding@gmail.com .

Statement of Political Neutrality

The J. Reuben Clark Law Society is neutral in matters of party politics. This applies in all of the many chapters in which it is established.  The J. Reuben Clark Law Society is not a lobbying organization, and it does not endorse, promote or oppose political parties, candidates or platforms, nor does it attempt to influence legislation, rules, or regulations as an institution.

However, the J. Reuben Clark Law Society does:
  • Encourage its members to play a role as responsible citizens in their communities, including becoming informed about issues and voting in elections.
  • Support constitutional principles of religious freedom, and encourage its members to defend, advocate, plead, and appeal for the religious freedom for which and upon which the U.S. Constitution was founded.
  • Expect its members to engage in the political process in an informed and civil manner, respecting the fact that members of the Society come from a variety of backgrounds and experiences and may have differences of opinion in partisan political matters.

CONNECT