J. Reuben Clark Law Society
Editing Content
Revert to History:

Religious Freedom Committee

As members of the J. Reuben Clark Law Society, we affirm the strength brought to the law by a lawyer's personal, religious conviction. In doing so, we implicitly affirm the great importance of religious liberty to the rule of law. Without religious liberty, religious conviction is relegated to the shadows. We therefore appreciate efforts to strengthen religious freedoms for all faiths. Members of the Law Society are encouraged to serve in the communities in which they live and to join forces with other like-minded individuals and groups to educate, inform and remind lawyers, decision makers and others of the critical importance of religious liberty to the existence of all free societies.

Mission Statement

At the 2013 J. Reuben Clark Law Society Annual Conference, Elder Jeffrey R. Holland challenged members of the Society "to defend, to advocate, to plead, and to appeal for…great faith…strong families…and religious freedom."  The purpose of the Religious Freedom Committee is to help members of the Society fulfill this challenge by leading, educating, empowering, organizing and inspiring members of the Society to promote religious freedom in their respective communities.  We invite members of the Society to be anxiously engaged in this good cause and to work in harmony with other like-minded individuals and organizations towards promoting religious freedom. 

Religious Freedom Committee Members

Matthew Richards, Chair

Steven Collis, Vice Chair and Chair Elect

Scott Brown, Secretary

Dean Gayla Soreson, Operations Committee Contract


Steven Collis, Chair

John A. Taylor, Member

Stephen Davis, Member

Eric Johnson, Member

North America Outreach & Events

Stephanie Barclay, Chair

Casey Hurley, Member

John Taylor, Member

Josh Figueira, Member

Ron Ahrens, Member

John Phillips, Member

Jeff Shields, Member

Rana Lehr-Lehnardt, Member

Nancy Van Slooten, Member

International Outreach & Events

John Zackrison, Chair

Brent Belnap, Member

Joseph Brubaker, Member

Kevin Kimball, Member

Emron Pratt, Member

Mauricio Torres, Member

Morris Linton, Member

Church Liason

Robert Snyder, Chair

Website and Social Media

Joe Brubaker, Chair


How can you help on the Internet?

The Religious Freedom Committeee is looking for volunteers to help draft religious freedom content for the JRCLS website.  To assist, please contact Michael Fielding at 816-983-8353 or michael.d.fielding@gmail.com .

Statement of Political Neutrality

The J. Reuben Clark Law Society is neutral in matters of party politics. This applies in all of the many chapters in which it is established.  The J. Reuben Clark Law Society is not a lobbying organization, and it does not endorse, promote or oppose political parties, candidates or platforms, nor does it attempt to influence legislation, rules, or regulations as an institution.

However, the J. Reuben Clark Law Society does:
  • Encourage its members to play a role as responsible citizens in their communities, including becoming informed about issues and voting in elections.
  • Support constitutional principles of religious freedom, and encourage its members to defend, advocate, plead, and appeal for the religious freedom for which and upon which the U.S. Constitution was founded.
  • Expect its members to engage in the political process in an informed and civil manner, respecting the fact that members of the Society come from a variety of backgrounds and experiences and may have differences of opinion in partisan political matters.