J. Reuben Clark Law Society
Editing Content
Revert to History:

Religious Freedom Committee



As members of the J. Reuben Clark Law Society, we affirm the strength brought to the law by a lawyer's personal, religious conviction. In doing so, we implicitly affirm the great importance of religious liberty to the rule of law. Without religious liberty, religious conviction is relegated to the shadows. We therefore appreciate efforts to strengthen religious freedoms for all faiths. Members of the Law Society are encouraged to serve in the communities in which they live and to join forces with other like-minded individuals and groups to educate, inform and remind lawyers, decision makers and others of the critical importance of religious liberty to the existence of all free societies.

Mission Statement

At the 2013 J. Reuben Clark Law Society Annual Conference, Elder Jeffrey R. Holland challenged members of the Society "to defend, to advocate, to plead, and to appeal for…great faith…strong families…and religious freedom."  The purpose of the Religious Freedom Committee is to help members of the Society fulfill this challenge by leading, educating, empowering, organizing and inspiring members of the Society to promote religious freedom in their respective communities.  We invite members of the Society to be anxiously engaged in this good cause and to work in harmony with other like-minded individuals and organizations towards promoting religious freedom. 

Religious Freedom Committee Members

Jeff Shields, Chair
949-724-7900
jeff@shieldslawoffices.com
  Brent Belnap
(212)289-2289
brentjbelnap@ldschurch.org
Michael Fielding
816-983-8353
michael.d.fielding@gmail.com
Casey Ann Hurley
208-496-3633
hurleyc@byui.edu
Eric Johnson
801-261-3407
eric@bcjlaw.net
Megan Jayne Nelson
925-984-8046
megan.jayne.nelson@gmail.com
Matthew Richards
801-328,3600
mrichards@kmclaw.com
  Martin Slater
(310)327-3069
mslater@mslaterlaw.com
Clint Smith
408-807-9300
cws@cwspclaw.com
Hannah C. Smith
hclaysonsmith@yahoo.com
Robert Snyder
801-240-0965
snyderre@ldschurch.org
Nancy Van Slooten
678-520-7890
nvanslooten@yahoo.com
Nolan Taylor
801-933-7366
taylor.nolan@dorsey.com
John A. Taylor
818-995-0800
jtaylor@horvitzlevy.com

How can you help on the Internet?

The Religious Freedom Committeee is looking for volunteers to help draft religious freedom content for the JRCLS website.  To assist, please contact Michael Fielding at 816-983-8353 or michael.d.fielding@gmail.com .

Statement of Political Neutrality

The J. Reuben Clark Law Society is neutral in matters of party politics. This applies in all of the many chapters in which it is established.  The J. Reuben Clark Law Society is not a lobbying organization, and it does not endorse, promote or oppose political parties, candidates or platforms, nor does it attempt to influence legislation, rules, or regulations as an institution.

However, the J. Reuben Clark Law Society does:
  • Encourage its members to play a role as responsible citizens in their communities, including becoming informed about issues and voting in elections.
  • Support constitutional principles of religious freedom, and encourage its members to defend, advocate, plead, and appeal for the religious freedom for which and upon which the U.S. Constitution was founded.
  • Expect its members to engage in the political process in an informed and civil manner, respecting the fact that members of the Society come from a variety of backgrounds and experiences and may have differences of opinion in partisan political matters.

CONNECT