J. Reuben Clark Law Society
Editing Content
Revert to History:

Religious Freedom Committee



As members of the J. Reuben Clark Law Society, we affirm the strength brought to the law by a lawyer's personal, religious conviction. In doing so, we implicitly affirm the great importance of religious liberty to the rule of law. Without religious liberty, religious conviction is relegated to the shadows. We therefore appreciate efforts to strengthen religious freedoms for all faiths. Members of the Law Society are encouraged to serve in the communities in which they live and to join forces with other like-minded individuals and groups to educate, inform and remind lawyers, decision makers and others of the critical importance of religious liberty to the existence of all free societies.

Mission Statement

At the 2013 J. Reuben Clark Law Society Annual Conference, Elder Jeffrey R. Holland challenged members of the Society "to defend, to advocate, to plead, and to appeal for…great faith…strong families…and religious freedom."  The purpose of the Religious Freedom Committee is to help members of the Society fulfill this challenge by leading, educating, empowering, organizing and inspiring members of the Society to promote religious freedom in their respective communities.  We invite members of the Society to be anxiously engaged in this good cause and to work in harmony with other like-minded individuals and organizations towards promoting religious freedom. 

Religious Freedom Committee Members




Matthew Richards, Chair
801-328,3600
mrichards@kmclaw.com
 
Steven Collis, Vice Chair
stcollis@hollandhart.com
 
 
Scott Brown, Executive Secretary
sbrown@lrlaw.com
 

Weekend Workshop and Chapter Support Subcommittee
 
Brent Belnap, Co-Chair
(212)289-2289
brentjbelnap@ldschurch.org
 
Robert Snyder, Co-Chair
801-240-0965
snyderre@ldschurch.org
 
John Zackrison, Member
jzackrison@kmclaw.com
 
 
John Phillips, Member
email
 
Casey Ann Hurley, Member
208-496-3633
hurleyc@byui.edu
 
John A. Taylor
818-995-0800
jtaylor@horvitzlevy.com


Website Subcommittee
Michael Fielding, Co-Chair
816-983-8353
michael.d.fielding@gmail.com
 
Joseph Brubaker, Co-Chair
jbrubaker@kmclaw.com
 
Nancy Van Slooten, Member
678-520-7890
nvanslooten@yahoo.com



Content Subcommittee
 
Steven Collis, Chair
stcollis@hollandhart.com
 
 
John A. Taylor, Member
818-995-0800
jtaylor@horvitzlevy.com
 
Hannah C. Smith, Member
hclaysonsmith@yahoo.com
 
Stephen Davis, Member
stephen.davis@arentfox.com
 

Outreach Subcommittee
Hannah C. Smith, Chair
hclaysonsmith@yahoo.com
 
Josh Figueira, Member
jfigueira@kmclaw.com
 
 
Casey Hurley, Member
hurleyc@byui.edu
 
 
Dianna Odell, Member
email
 
Service Subcommittee
Jeff Shields, Chair
949-724-7900
jeff@shieldslawoffices.com
Eric Johnson, Member
801-261-3407
eric@bcjlaw.net

International Subcommittee
 
Kevin Kimball, Chair
kevin.kimball@ldschurch.org
 
 
John Phillips, Member
email
 
 
Joseph Brubaker, Member
jbrubaker@kmclaw.com
 
 
Emron Pratt, Member
emronpratt@gmail.com
 
 
Mauricio Lopex, Member
email
 

How can you help on the Internet?

The Religious Freedom Committeee is looking for volunteers to help draft religious freedom content for the JRCLS website.  To assist, please contact Michael Fielding at 816-983-8353 or michael.d.fielding@gmail.com .

Statement of Political Neutrality

The J. Reuben Clark Law Society is neutral in matters of party politics. This applies in all of the many chapters in which it is established.  The J. Reuben Clark Law Society is not a lobbying organization, and it does not endorse, promote or oppose political parties, candidates or platforms, nor does it attempt to influence legislation, rules, or regulations as an institution.

However, the J. Reuben Clark Law Society does:
  • Encourage its members to play a role as responsible citizens in their communities, including becoming informed about issues and voting in elections.
  • Support constitutional principles of religious freedom, and encourage its members to defend, advocate, plead, and appeal for the religious freedom for which and upon which the U.S. Constitution was founded.
  • Expect its members to engage in the political process in an informed and civil manner, respecting the fact that members of the Society come from a variety of backgrounds and experiences and may have differences of opinion in partisan political matters.

CONNECT