J. Reuben Clark Law Society

JRCLS Celebrates 30 Years at Its Annual Leadership Conference

The 2018 JRCLS Leadership Conference was held on October 4-5 on BYU Campus and at Aspen Grove. This annual event was also a 30-year celebration of the anniversary of JRCLS for which Gayla Sorenson, Dean of External Relations at the Law School, delivered the celebration speech. Dinner followed with a keynote address by Bruce C. Hafen, attorney, author, and emeritus general authority of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, who was also a JRCLS founding member as Dean of the Law School in 1988. (See separate article on Elder Hafen’s talk below.)  

Also at the dinner on Thursday evening, Angel Zimmerman received a plaque and an enthusiastic ovation in recognition of her work during the past two years as Chair of the International Women in Law Committee, and Susannah Thomas officially became the new Chair of the WIL Committee.

Additional presentations were given by Derek Johnson, NAACP President and CEO, and Wilbur Colon, NAACP Special Counsel who spoke on “Leadership through Partnering,” covering ways in which the NAACP, the BYU Law community, and the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints can work together toward common goals. Also present from the national leadership of the NAACP were Leon Russell, Chairman; Denese Carroll, Chief Operating Officer; and Eris Sims, Chief of Staff.

By Kathryn Latour

Posted: 2019-03-19